## 2014 Physics Department Chairs Conference Holiday Inn-College Park

# Friday, June 6th

### 2:30 – 4:15 PM Special Workshop for New Chairs

Hallsie Reno, University of Iowa Ron Henderson, Middle Tennessee State University

### 4:15-4:45 PM **Informal reception**

#### 4:45 PM Welcome and Introductions

Beth Cunningham, Executive Officer, American Association of Physics Teachers Kate Kirby, Executive Officer, American Physical Society

Fred Dylla, American Institute of Physics

Moderator: Bob Hilborn, American Association of Physics Teachers

#### 5:00 – 6:00 PM Roundtable Discussion with NSF Program Officers

Paul Sokol, Program Director, Division of Materials Research Kathleen McCloud, Program Director, Division of Physics Claudia Rankins, Program Director, Education and Human Resources

Moderator: Monica Plisch, American Physical Society

### 6:00 - 7:30 PM Dinner and opening talk

"MOOCs, Online Education, and Your Department" David Pritchard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Moderator: Mary Hall Reno, University of Iowa

### Saturday, June 7<sup>th</sup>

#### 7:30-8:30 AM **Breakfast at the hotel**

#### 9:00 – 10:00 AM Presentation and Panel Session:

"Assessment for Course and Program Improvement" Charles Henderson, Western Michigan University

Panelists to be selected from participants.

Moderator: Ron Henderson, Middle Tennessee State University

#### 10:00-10:15 AM **Break**

10:15-11:00AM **Town Hall Discussion** with Laurie McNeil, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and cochair of the AAPT/APS Joint Task Force on Undergraduate Physics Programs

Moderator: Bob Hilborn, AAPT

### 11:00 -11:45 AM **Plenary**:

"Majors' tracks for innovation and entrepreneurship" Duncan Carlsmith, University of Wisconsin-Madison Moderator: Bob Joynt, University of Wisconsin-Madison

## 11:45 – 12:45 PM **Group photo and lunch**

### 12:45 – 1:30 PM **Plenary**

"Research-based assessment resources to improve teaching in your classroom and department"

Sarah ("Sam") McKagan, AAPT and Seattle Pacific University

Moderator: Karen Magee-Sauer, Rowan University

## 1:30 – 2:15 PM Small Group Sessions I– topics to be determined by pre-conference survey

- **A.** Assessing teaching in your department with the research-based Assessment Data Explorer, Sarah ("Sam") McKagan and Elleanor Sayre, Kansas State University
- B. TBD
- C. TBD

#### 2:15 – 3:00 PM **Plenary**:

"The landscape of graduate admissions: Surveying physics programs about doctoral admissions practices"

Geoff Potvin, Florida International University

Moderator: Anderson Sunda-Meya, Xavier University (New Orleans)

#### 3:00 - 3:30 PM **Break**

### 3:30 –4:15 PM Small Group Sessions II

- A. Primarily Undergraduate Institutions
- **B.** Master's Degree Institutions
- C. PhD granting institutions

#### 4:15 - 5:00 PM Plenary

"Increasing participation of underrepresented minorities in graduate education: Building effective 'bridge' programs"

Ted Hodapp, American Physical Society

Moderator: Bob Joynt, University of Wisconsin-Madison

### 5:00-5:15 PM Feedback on Upcoming Physics Department Chairs' Survey

Ted Hodapp, American Physical Society

#### 5:15 - 6:00 Free Time

#### 6:00 – 6:30 PM **Reception**

## 6:30 PM **Dinner at the hotel**

### Sunday, June 8

### 7:30 - 8:30 AM Breakfast at the hotel

#### 9:00 – 9:45 AM Physics policy session

"Federal research and education policy outlook"

Tyler Glembo, American Physical Society, Washington Office

Moderator: Monica Plisch, American Physical Society

### 9:45 - 10:15 AM **Break** and hotel checkout

## 10:15 – 10:45 AM **Plenary**

"Putting students to work: Physics-based career opportunities education resources" Roman Czujko, Kendra Redmond, and Toni Sauncey, American Institute of Physics Moderator: Karen Magee-Sauer, Rowan University

10:45 – 11:15 AM **Open session** to discuss conference outcomes, conclusions and recommendations Moderator: Mary Hall Reno, University of Iowa

# 11:15 AM Final Words, Post-Conference Survey Information, Adjourn

Moderator: Bob Hilborn, AAPT