AAPT Teaching Fellows Program

AAPT has a long history of recognizing the contributions and accomplishment of its members. The Fellows program follows in that tradition. The AAPT Teaching Fellows Program recognizes AAPT members who have made exceptional contributions to the mission of the AAPT – "to enhance the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching." This is a recognition program specifically to honor one's teaching abilities or notable support of the teaching of physics.

Nomination Process:

- Nominees must have been members of AAPT for at least the last seven years.
- A Section Representative or an Area Committee Chair should recommend the nominee. (The intent is that these individuals would have first-hand knowledge of the teaching skills and abilities of the nominee)
- The electronic nomination form on the AAPT website should be used.
- There are no limitations on the number of nominations that can be submitted by a Section or Area Committee.
- Two letters of recommendation from AAPT members should be included in the nomination packet.
- Nominations will be considered from all constituencies (e.g., high school, two-year-college, four-year college/university, and other groups involved with teaching or the support of teaching.)
- The Awards Committee reviews nominations and selects Fellows.
- The Awards Committee will consider nominations on a rolling basis, and awards can be made throughout the year.
- The Awards Committee can select additional qualified members for Fellows (e.g., Halliday and Resnick, Zitzewitz Teaching Award winners.)
- The Awards Committee will notify the Executive Office and Board of Directors of the recipients.

Acknowledgement:

- Fellows should be recognized within the Area Committee and Section.
- Fellows names will be listed in the national meeting program booklet and on the AAPT website.
- Fellows will receive a certificate and lapel pin.
- The Executive Office will prepare the award certificate and pin and arrange for mailing if necessary.

Motion: The Board approves the new AAPT Fellowship policy.

Motion: The Board instructs the Awards Committee to automatically consider recipients of the Zitzewitz, Halliday and Resnick, Millikan, and Oersted Awards for fellowship. Awardees would still need to be members of AAPT for at least the last seven years.