AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 
 

Samuel M. Sampere, Chair (2015)
Syracuse University
Dept of Physics
201 Physics Bldg
Syracuse, NY United States 13244
Phone: (315) 443-5999; Fax: (315) 443-9103
smsamper@syr.edu

David P. Maiullo, Vice Chair (2015)
Rutgers University
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
136 Frelinghuysen Rd
Piscataway, NJ United States 08854-8019
Phone: (732) 445-5500, x3872; Fax: (732) 445-4343
maiullo@physics.rutgers.edu

Brian J. Andersson (2015)
University of Minnesota
135 Tate Laboratory of Physics
116 Church St SE
Minneapolis, MN United States 55455
Phone: (612) 624-6584
banders@physics.umn.edu

Jerry Hester (2016)
Clemson University
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
118 Kinard Laboratory
Clemson, SC United States 29634-0978
Phone: (864) 656-5324
jerryh@g.clemson.edu

David Kardelis (2015)
Utah State University
140 Spring Canyon Road
Helper, UT United States 84526
Phone: (435) 613-5258; Fax: (435) 613-5801
david.kardelis@usu.edu

Yongkang Le (2017)
Fudan University
No. 220, Handan Road
Department of Physics, Fudan University
Shanghai, China 200433
Phone: +862165642365
yongkangle@gmail.com

James J. Lincoln (2017)
Tarbut V'Torah
5 Federation Way
Irvine, CA United States 92603
Phone: (949) 285-9546
LincolnPhysics@gmail.com

Dale Stille (2017)
University of Iowa
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Van Allen Hall Room 58
Iowa City, IA United States 52242
Phone: (319) 335-1833; Fax: (319) 335-1753
dale-stille@uiowa.edu

Jeremiah D. Williams (2016)
Wittenberg University
Physics Department
Po Box 720
Springfield, OH United States 45501-0720
Phone: (937) 327-7825; Fax: (937) 327-6340
jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

  1. Inform the AAPT membership about current techniques for the construction, maintenance, and utilization of instructional apparatus.
  2. Seek new and forgotten techniques for presenting ideas in physics through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.
  3. As authorized by the Executive Board, conduct events such as the apparatus competition to recognize, reward, and publicize contributions to physics teaching through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.