AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Daniel M. Smith, Chair (2015)
South Carolina State Univ
PO Box 7709
Orangeburg, SC United States 29117-0001
Phone: (803) 536-7162
dsmith@scsu.edu

Natan Samuels, Vice Chair (2015)
Florida International University
3051 NW 2 St
Miami, FL United States 33125
nsamu002@fiu.edu

Kimberly Coble (2015)
Chicago State University
9501 S King Dr
Dept. of Chemistry and Physics
Chicago, IL United States 60628-1598
Phone: (773) 995-2085; Fax: (773) 995-3809
kcoble@csu.edu

Dimitri R. Dounas-Frazer (2017)
California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo
Center for Excellence in STEM Education
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA United States 93407
Phone: 18507562875
dimitri.dounasfrazer@gmail.com

Seth Guinals Kupperman (2015)
High School for Math, Science & Engineering
240 Convent Ave
New York, NY United States 10031
SGuinals@schools.nyc.gov

Chuhee Kwon (2015)
California State University - Long Beach
1250 Bellflower Blvd
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Long Beach, CA United States 90840-0119
Phone: (562) 985-8745
ckwon@csulb.edu

Anthony Musumba Mwene (2016)
Bismarck State College
Jack Science Ctr. #226/ PO Box 5587
1500 Edwards Ave
Bismarck, ND United States 58506-5587
tonymusumba@gmail.com

Geoff Potvin (2017)
Florida International University - Modesto A. Maidique Campus
Department of Physics, CP 206
11200 SW 8 St, FIU
Miami, FL United States 33199
Phone: (305) 348-7614
gpotvin@fiu.edu

Susan B. Ramsey (2017)
12735 Kain Road
Glen Allen, VA United States 23059
Phone: (757) 766-5210
susanbradyramsey@gmail.com

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

  1. Seek more effective means of recruitment and retention of minority members of society in physics classes and physics related careers.
  2. Seek methods of aiding minority physicists to overcome barriers to career development.
  3. Communicate to the AAPT membership and to the community at large the findings of the committee, through approved AAPT channels.