AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers

Apparatus Competition Winners for the 2009 Summer Meeting Ann Arbor

Photos courtesy Adam Beehler and Jim Mallmann.

1st Place ($1000)

Remote Breathing Status Monitor
Remote Breathing Status Monitor

Remote Breathing Status Monitor

Description

A. James Mallmann
Department of Physics and Chemistry
Milwaukee School of Engineering
1025 N Broadway
Milwaukee, WI 53202-3109
414-702-1842
mallmann@msoe.edu

2nd Place AND Low Cost Award ($700)

Simple Photoelectric Effect
Simple Photoelectric Effect

Simple Photoelectric Effect

Description

Adam Beehler
115 S 1400 E #201
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0830
801-581-6602
beehler@physics.utah.edu

3rd Place ($200)

AREAL VELOCITY AND THE ORBIT OF MERCURY

Description

Orbit of Mercury
Areal Velocity
and the Orbit of Mercury

Walter L. Triksoko
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Stephen F. Austin State University
Nacogdoches, TX 75962
W 936 468-3001
H 936 560-9046
wtrikosko@sfasu.edu


Low Cost Winners ($100 each)

Low cost Electrostatic generators made from FunFlyStick™ toy
Low cost Electrostatic generators
made from FunFlyStick™ toy

Low cost Electrostatic generators made from FunFlyStickTMToy

Description

Robert A. Morse
St. Albans School, Mount St. Albans, Washington, DC 20016
202-537-6452
robert_morse@cathedral.org

Diffraction Demo
Diffraction Demo

Diffraction Demo

Description

Alyssa Cedarman, Jessie Segal, and Dan MacIsaac (make check out to Jessie Segal)
Physics Department
Science Building 262
Buffalo State College
1300 Elmwood Ave
Buffalo, NY 14222
(716) 692-4983
Jsegal263@gmail.com

Horizontal Resonance Tube with Sound Source

Description

Tom Senior
355 Dell Lane
Highland Park, IL 60035
cell: 847-606-8704
tomseniorphysics@yahoo.com

Investigating the effect of the magnetic field from a wire on a compass

Description

Sytil K. Murphy
Kansas State University
Dept. of Physics
116 Cardwell Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
785-532-1824
smurphy@phys.ksu.edu

Musical Paper
Musical Paper

Musical Paper

Description

Bryan Suits
Physics Department – Michigan Technological Univ
1400 Townsend Dr
Houghton, MI 49931
906-487-2093
suits@mtu.edu