AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers

Area Committee Chairs

 
Handbook for Area Chairs


Committee on Apparatus

Daniel E. Beeker, Chair (2018)
    Indiana Univ - Bloomington
    Indiana University - Physics
    727 East Third Street
    Bloomington, IN United States 47405
    Phone: (812) 855-5903; Fax: (812) 855-5533
    debeeker@indiana.edu


Committee on Diversity in Physics

Elizabeth Walker, Chair (2018)
    North Cobb High School
    3400 Hwy 293 N
    Kennesaw, GA United States 30144
    Phone: (770) 975-6685
    elizabeth.walker@cobbk12.org


Committee on Educational Technologies

Larry Engelhardt, Chair (2018)
    Francis Marion University
    PO Box 100547
    Florence, SC United States 29501-0547
    Phone: (843) 661-1452
    lengelhardt@fmarion.edu


Committee on Graduate Education in Physics

Zhongzhou Chen, Chair (2018)
    University of Central Florida
    4000 Central Florida Blvd
    Physics Dept
    Orlando, FL United States 32816
    Phone: (217) 721-8411
    Zhongzhou.Chen@ucf.edu


Committee on History & Philosophy of Physics

Ekaterina I. Michonova, PhD, Chair (2018)
    Erskine Coll
    2 Washington St
    Po Box 338
    Due West, SC United States 29639-0338
    Phone: (864) 379-6579; Fax: (864) 379-2167
    emichon@erskine.edu    
   
Committee website: https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/hist-phil-phys/


Committee on International Physics Education

Andre Bresges, Chair (2018)
    University of Cologne
    Institute of Physics Education
    Gronewaldstr.2
    Cologne, Germany NRW 50931
    Phone: +4915114746520; Fax: +492214705961
    andre.bresges@uni-koeln.de    
   
Committee website: http://www.aapt-international.org


Committee on Laboratories

Mary Ann H. Klassen, Chair (2018)
    Swarthmore College
    Dept of Physics/Astronomy
    500 College Ave
    Swarthmore, PA United States 19081
    Phone: (610) 328-8384; Fax: (610) 328-7895
    mklasse1@swarthmore.edu


Committee on Modern Physics

Kenneth W. Cecire, Chair (2019)
    University of Notre Dame
    Physics Dept
    225 Nieuwland Science Hall
    Notre Dame, IN United States 46556
    Phone: (574) 631-3343; Fax: (574) 631-3977
    kcecire@nd.edu


Committee on Physics in High Schools

Marla Jane Glover, Chair (2018)
    Rossville High School
    606 South 21st
    Rossville, IN United States 46065-0530
    Phone: (765) 379-2551
    mglover@rcsd.k12.in.us


Committee on Physics in Pre-High School Education

Ann M. Robinson, Chair (2018)
    University of West Georgia
    1601 Maple St
    Accounts Payable
    Carrollton, GA United States 30118-0001
    Phone: (678) 839-4087 - Janet
    arobinso@westga.edu


Committee on Physics in Two-Year Colleges

Thomas Carter, PhD, Chair (2018)
    College of DuPage
    Natural Science
    425 Fawell Blvd
    Glen Ellyn, IL United States 60137-6599
    Phone: (630) 942-3346
    carter@fnal.gov    
   
Committee website: https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/comm/


Committee on Physics in Undergraduate Education

Toni Sauncy, Chair (2018)
    Texas Lutheran University
    1000 West Court Street
    Seguin, TX United States 78155
    Phone: (301) 209-3013
    tsauncy@tlu.edu    
   
Committee website: https://www.aapt.org/aboutaapt/organization/undergraduate.cfm


Committee on Professional Concerns

Eleanor C. Sayre, Chair (2018)
    Kansas State University
    Physics Dept
    116 Cardwell Hall
    Manhattan, KS United States 66506
    esayre@gmail.com


Committee on Research in Physics Education

Cassandra Paul, PhD, Chair (2018)
    San Jose State Univ
    One Washington Square
    San Jose, CA United States 95192-0001
    Phone: (408) 924-5228
    cassandra.paul@sjsu.edu


Committee on Science Education for the Public

Michael R. Gallis, PhD, Chair (2018)
    Penn State University - Schuykill
    Penn State Schuylkill
    200 University Dr
    Schuylkill Haven, PA United States 17972
    Phone: 570-385-6053; Fax: 570-385-6105
    mrg3@psu.edu


Committee on Space Science and Astronomy

Amber L. Stuver, PhD, Chair (2018)
    Caltech/LIGO Livingston
    800 E Lancaster Ave
    Physics Dept
    Villanova, PA United States 19085
    Phone: (610) 519-6534
    amber.stuver@villanova.edu    
   
Committee website: https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/spacesci-astro/


Committee on Teacher Preparation

John C. Stewart, Chair (2018)
    West Virginia University
    1500 Univ Ave
    Morgantown, WV United States 26506-0002
    Phone: (479) 445-2522
    jcstewart1@mail.wvu.edu


Committee on the Interests of Senior Physicists

Charles H. Holbrow, PhD, Chair (2018)
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    77 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA United States 02139-4307
    Phone: (508) 630-5114
    cholbrow@colgate.edu


Committee on Women in Physics

Sissi L. Li, Chair (2018)
    California State University - Fullerton
    PO Box 34080
    800 N State Col Blvd
    Fullerton, CA United States 92831-3547
    Phone: 16572787027
    sissili314@gmail.com    
   
Committee website: http://www.aapt.org/aboutaapt/organization/women.cfm