AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Amber L. Stuver, Chair (2015)
Caltech/LIGO Livingston
19100 LIGO Ln
PO Box 940
Livingston, LA United States 70754
Phone: (225) 686-3190; Fax: (225) 686-7189
stuver@gmail.com

Philip W. Hammer, Vice Chair (2015)
American Institute of Physics
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3843
Fax: (301) 209-0845
pwhammer@gmail.com

Richard Gelderman (2017)
Western Kentucky University
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
1906 College Heights Blvd
Bowling Green, KY United States 42101-1077
Phone: (270) 745-6203; Fax: (270) 745-2014
gelderman@wku.edu

Jan Landis Mader (2015)
Great Falls High School
1900 2nd Avenue South
Great Falls, MT United States 59405
Phone: (406) 268-6250
Jan_Mader@gfps.k12.mt.us

Stanley J. Micklavzina (2015)
University of Oregon
Dept of Physics, Rm 142 Williamette Hall
1274 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR United States 97403-1274
Phone: (541) 346-4801; Fax: (541) 346-5861
stanm@uoregon.edu

Michael P. Orleski (2016)
Misericordia University
Dept of Physics
Dallas, PA United States 18612
Phone: (570) 674-6251
morleski@gmail.com

Shawn A. Weatherford (2017)
MC 2188
Saint Leo University
Saint Leo, FL United States 33574
Phone: (352) 588-8373
saweatherford@mac.com

John M. Welch (2017)
Cabrillo College
6500 Soquel Drive
Aptos, CA United States 95003
Phone: (831) 479-6518
jowelch@cabrillo.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

  1. Seek ways in which physics concepts, the importance of science literacy and research, and the interaction between science and society, can be effectively conveyed to the public, of all ages and persuasions in both formal and informal educational settings.
  2. Aid in keeping the AAPT membership informed of the importance of communicating science and an enthusiasm for science to the public, and of effective means for doing so.