AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Philip W. Hammer, Committee Chair (2016)
American Institute of Physics
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3843
pwhammer@gmail.com

Richard Gelderman, Vice Chair (2016)
Western Kentucky University
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
1906 College Heights Blvd
Bowling Green, KY United States 42101-1077
Phone: (270) 745-6203; Fax: (270) 745-2014
gelderman@wku.edu

Matthew Bobrowsky (2018)
Office of the Dean, CMNST, Library 6 Flr
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE United States 19901-2277
Phone: (302) 857-7729
mbobrowsky@desu.edu

Michael R. Gallis (2018)
Penn State University - Schuykill
Penn State Schuylkill
200 University Dr
Schuylkill Haven, PA United States 17972
Phone: 570-385-6053; Fax: 570-385-6105
mrg3@psu.edu

Michael P. Orleski (2016)
Misericordia University
Dept of Physics
301 Lake Street
Dallas, PA United States 18612
Phone: (570) 674-6251
morleski@gmail.com

Rebecca Thompson (2016)
APS
522 Martingale Ln
Arnold, MD United States 21012
thompson@aps.org

Shawn A. Weatherford (2017)
MC 2188
Saint Leo University
Saint Leo, FL United States 33574
Phone: (352) 588-8373
saweatherford@mac.com

John M. Welch (2017)
Cabrillo College
6500 Soquel Drive
Aptos, CA United States 95003
Phone: (831) 479-6518
jowelch@cabrillo.edu

Chuck Winrich (2018)
Babson College
231 Forest Street
Kriebel 203
Babson Park, MA United States 02457-0310
Phone: 781-239-5583
cwinrich@babson.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Science Education for the Public

William E. Reitz (2013)

Stephen A. Lindaas, PhD (2014)

Amber L. Stuver, PhD (2015)

 

Mission

  1. Seek ways in which physics concepts, the importance of science literacy and research, and the interaction between science and society, can be effectively conveyed to the public, of all ages and persuasions in both formal and informal educational settings.
  2. Aid     in keeping the AAPT membership informed of the importance of communicating     science and an enthusiasm for science to the public, and of effective     means for doing so.