AAPT Meeting of the Members Hilton New Orleans Riverside (St. James Room) New Orleans, LA January 7, 2024 (8:30 PM Central)

Duane Merrell (AAPT President) called the meeting to order at 8:30 PM (Central). Gordon Ramsey made the motion to approve the WM2024 Meeting of the Members Agenda and WM2023 Meeting of the Members minutes; Tom O'Kuma seconded the motion.

AAPT members unanimously approved the WM2024 Meeting of the Members Agenda and WM2023 Meeting of the Members minutes by voice vote.

Blane Baker (AAPT Secretary) provided a report on Fall 2023 elections and composition of the 2024 Nominating Committee. The following AAPT members were elected to the Board of Directors: Debbie Andres (Vice President), David Marasco (At-Large Two-Year College Representative), and James Freericks (Treasurer). The Board approved the following members for service on the 2024 Nominating Committee: David Sturm (Chair), Deborah Roudebush, Bryn Bishop, Beverly Cannon, and Sarah Formica. Two more Nominating Committee members will be added in early 2024.

Tom O'Kuma (AAPT Treasurer) gave an overview of the budget. The Association entered 2023 with an Operating Budget that had a \$1.53M deficit. The Board of Directors and Staff made significant changes to revenue and expenses during the year to decrease that deficit to approximately \$200k. Cost savings were implemented without cutting any services or programs. Long-term reserves increased by 16.98% during 2023 while short-term reserves declined by 62.5% due to a \$600k transfer of funds from those reserves to the 2023 Operating Budget. The 2024 Operating Budget is expected to have a small, but manageable deficit.

Gordon Ramsey, Chair of the Meetings Planning Committee, reported that SM2025 (and SM2027) will be held in Washington DC, and SM2026 will be held in Pasadena. The Committee has recommended to the Board of Directors Las Vegas as a meeting site for WM2026. This meeting would be held in the Horseshoe Hotel in mid-January of 2026. Guest facilities are separate from the casino. The Committee is revisiting site selection criteria for meeting venues. The main considerations are the safety and experience of our members, cost, transportation, and facilities. The Committee is studying state and local laws and practices and involving the DEI Task Force and appropriate committees for additional input.

Beth Cunningham (CEO) presented an overview of AAPT activities for 2023. Cunningham recognized the departures of Bob Hilborn (Associate Executive Officer) who retired on December 31, 2023 and Mark Hannum (K-12 Program Manager) who returned to high school teaching at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology. Current Associate Director of Programs and Conferences, Cerena Cantrell, will leave AAPT after WM2024. Justine Harren, Interim K-12 Program Manager, joined the AAPT Staff in June 2023; Rachel Ivie,

Director of Higher Education Programs and Grants, began at AAPT in December 2023. Cunningham expressed appreciation to all AAPT Staff for their diligent work.

AAPT membership continues to decline. The Board is fully aware of these trends and has endorsed a task force to engage new and early career physics educators. No Code of Conduct incidents occurred during WM2023 and SM2023. AAPT remains engaged in Societies Consortium on Sexual Harassment in STEMM.

The ACP-DC facility is now open at 555 12th Street NW in Washington, DC. The space is designed for collaboration and meetings. ACP-MD was sold to the University of Maryland. AIP, APS, and AAPT now rent space on the 5th floor of ACP-MD which remains the headquarters of AAPT. Upgrades to membership, e-commerce, and accounting software have been completed in 2023. The AAPT CEO and staff continue to pursue new fundraising opportunities.

As an organization APPT actively engages in securing grants. AAPT received four grants over the past year, including Creating a Culture of Teaching as Scholarly Work Among Physicists from the AIP Venture Fund. The US Physics Team trained in Maryland and competed in the International Physics Olympiad (Tokyo 2023). The team earned 4 gold medals, one silver medal, and shared the Best Experiment Special Prize and Best Theory Special Prize with China. Four Task Forces (K-12, Equitable Policies, Local Member Engagement, and Recruiting and Retaining New and Early Career Physics Educators) were active in 2023. The Barbara Wolff-Reichert Travel Grant was instituted in 2023. The first recipients, Saara Naudts and Mike Florek, are attending WM2024. SM2024 dates in Boston are set for July 6-10 (PERC July 10–11, PhysTEC July 6–10, and OPTYCs July 6–7).

During a moment of silence AAPT remembered the following members: Vasant Itagi, Thomas Rossing (AAPT president 1991-92), Paul Hickman, Priscilla Laws, Charles H. Holbrow (AAPT president 2003-04), and Harvey Leff (AAPT president 2007-08) who passed in 2023.

Cunningham expressed thanks to all AAPT members for their dedication and support.

Merrell acknowledged all AAPT members for their commitment to the association and their ongoing support. Merrell recognized outgoing Board members Toni Sauncy, Tom O'Kuma, and Krista Wood for their diligent service to AAPT.

The Meeting of the Members adjourned at 9:10 PM (Central).