2018 - 2020 Program Leads & Advisors



Mark Hannum is the incoming AAPT K-12 Program Manager. Formerly, he was a lab technology teacher at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, and was an Einstein Fellow at the NSF (2009-2010).



Rebecca Vieyra is the former AAPT K-12
Program Manager. She is a doctoral student at the University of Maryland, currently manages an international STEM education program, and was an Einstein Fellow at NASA (2014-2015).



Bethany Johns, Ph.D., is a government relations advocacy associate for the AIP.



Jeff Milbourne, Ph.D., is an independent consultant and was an Einstein Fellow in the office of Representative Mike Honda (2014–2015).



Trey Smith is a doctoral student at Northwestern University, and was an Einstein Fellow in the office of Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (2014–2015) before becoming a Library of Congress Teacher in Residence (2015–2016).



Remy Dou, Ph.D., is a professor of science education at Florida International University, and was an Einstein Fellow at the NSF (2011– 2013).



Rebecca Hite, Ph.D., is a professor of science education at Texas Tech University, and was an Einstein Fellow in the office of Representative Danny K. Davis (2012–2013).



Kelli Gamez Warble is a graduate student in educational policy at the University of Arizona and a Teacher-in-Residence for the Department of Physics.



Michael Vargas Mike Vargas in a high school physics teacher and policy advocate in the Arizona "Cactus Caucus."



The American Institute of Physics is a federation of physical societies, including the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT). The AAPT is a professional membership association of scientists dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching. One Physics Ellipse College Park, MD 20740 I 301-209-3311 I aapt.org

