AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers

Daniel M. Smith, Chair (2016)
South Carolina State University
PO Box 7709
Orangeburg, SC United States 29117-0001
Phone: (803) 536-7162

Dimitri R. Dounas-Frazer, Vice Chair (2016)
University of Colorado - Boulder
Department of Physics UCB 390
University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder, CO United States 80309-0390
Phone: 13034928759

Ximena C. Cid (2018)
California State University - Dominguez Hills
1000 E Victoria St
Carson, CA United States 90747-0005
Phone: (310) 243-3404; Fax: (310) 243-2593

Anthony Musumba Mwene (2016)
Bismarck State College
Jack Science Ctr. #226/ PO Box 5587
1500 Edwards Ave
Bismarck, ND United States 58506-5587
Phone: (701) 224-5506

Geoff Potvin (2017)
Florida International University - Modesto A. Maidique Campus
Department of Physics, CP 206
11200 SW 8 St, FIU
Miami, FL United States 33199
Phone: (305) 348-7614

Susan B. Ramsey (2017)
12735 Kain Road
Glen Allen, VA United States 23059
Phone: (434) 245-2667

Elizabeth Walker (2018)
North Cobb High School
3400 Hwy 293 N
Kennesaw, GA United States 30144
Phone: (770) 975-6685

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Past Chairs

Committee on Diversity in Physics

Ntungwa Maasha, PhD (2013)

Geraldine L. Cochran (2014)

Daniel M. Smith, Jr. (2015)



  1. Seek more effective means of recruitment and retention of minority members of society in physics classes and physics related careers.
  2. Seek methods of aiding minority physicists to overcome barriers to career development.
  3. Communicate to the AAPT membership and to the community at large the findings of the committee, through approved AAPT channels.