AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers

U.S. Physics Team Travelers Selected for the 2017 International Physics Olympiad

2017 U.S. Physics Team Travelers

L-R: Jimmy Qin, Michele Song, Shreyas Balaji, Kye Shi, Sanjay Raman

For immediate release.

June 8, 2017, College Park, MD — Five students have been selected to represent the U.S. Physics Team as the 2017 Traveling Team at the 48th International Physics Olympiad, a competition among high-school physics students, to be held July 16–24, 2017 in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. They will be accompanied by coaches Paul Stanley and David Fallest.

The Traveling Team members are:

Shreyas Balaji, John Foster Dulles High School Sugar Land, TX
Jimmy Qin, Seminole High School, Sanford, FL
Sanjay Raman, Lakeside School, Seattle, WA
Kye Shi, Monte Vista Christian School, Watsonville, CA
Michelle Song, Mission San Jose High School, Fremont, CA

The alternate traveler is Srijon Mukherjee, Amity International School, Noida, Noida, UP

"The selection of the travelers was extremely difficult.  These five team members will represent the U.S. Physics Team and the United States  very well, keeping with the tradition of bringing home medals and honoring the teams of the past 30 years." said Academic Director, Paul Stanley. "I would have been happy to travel with them all but the rules of the International Physics Olympiad required that we choose five." 

The students attended a rigorous training camp at the University of Maryland, where, through classes, labs, and special lectures, they were coached on difficult physics concepts, and then took a series of exams. They also made a trip to nearby NASA headquarters in Washington D.C. 

The leaders of the 2017 U.S. Physics team are: Paul Stanley, Academic Director; David Fallest and JiaJia Dong, Senior Coaches; Mark Eichenlaub and Kevin Zhou, Coaches; and Mike Winer, Junior Coach.

Funding and Sponsorship
The U.S. Physics Olympiad Program was started in 1986 by AAPT to promote and demonstrate academic excellence. It continues to be supported as a joint initiative between AAPT, AIP, and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics:

American Association of Physicists in Medicine
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Astronomical Society
American Crystallographic Association
American Meteorological Society
American Institute for Physics
American Physical Society
AVS: Science &Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing
Optical Society of America
The Society of Rheology

Hosting Universities
George Washington University
University of Maryland

Corporate Sponsors:
Beloit College
Cambridge University Press
Ellington Management Group
Princeton University Press
Texas Instruments

Funding for the U.S. Physics Team also depends on donations from concerned individuals and organizations. Contributions are entirely used to support the selection, training, and travel of the team. Donations to the U.S. Physics Team are accepted at www.aapt.org/physicsteam/donate.cfm.

Main website of the U.S. Physics Team: http://www.aapt.org/physicsteam/2017/
History of the physics team, including past winners: http://www.aapt.org/physicsteam/2017/program.cfm
47th International Physics Olympiad: http://www.ipho2016.org/

AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

David Wolfe, American Association of Physics Teachers, dwolfe@aapt.org, 301-209-3327