AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Homepage

https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/spacesci-astro/

Julia K. Olsen, Chair (2015)
University of Arizona
University of Arizona
1501 E Speedway Blvd
Tucson, AZ United States 85721
Phone: (520) 621-5682
jkolsen@email.arizona.edu

Donald Andrew Smith, Vice Chair (2015)
Guilford College
5800 W Friendly Ave
Greensboro, NC United States 27410
Phone: (336) 316-2162
dsmith4@guilford.edu

Beverly T. Cannon (2015)
6315 Rincon Way Drive
Dallas, TX United States 75214-2040
Phone: (214) 868-5445
cannonb75@gmail.com

Kristi D. Concannon (2017)
King's Coll
Dept of Chemistry and Physics
133 N River St
Wilkes Barre, PA United States 18711
Phone: (570) 208-5900 ext. 5390
kristiconcannon@kings.edu

Kathryn E. Devine (2017)
The College of Idaho
2112 Cleveland Blvd
Caldwell, ID United States 83605-9990
Phone: (208) 459-5064
kdevine@collegeofidaho.edu

Heather P. Jones (2016)
Mt. San Antonio College
1100 North Grand Avenue
Walnut, CA 91789
Phone: (909) 274-5794
hjones3@mtsac.edu

Ramon E. Lopez (2017)
Univ of Texas - Arlington
Dept of Physics
Arlington, TX United States 76019
Phone: (321) 750-8688
relopez@uta.edu

Pamela A. Maher (2016)
University of Nevada - Las Vegas
4505 S Maryland Pkwy
Las Vegas, NV United States 89154-9901
Phone: (702) 651-4505; Fax: (702) 651-4908
maherp@unlv.nevada.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

  1. To strengthen and maintain contacts with national organizations concerned with space science and astronomy and the teaching thereof.
  2. To provide AAPT members with a perspective on current space science and astronomy research through "Frontiers in Space Science and Astronomy" sessions.
  3. To promote excellence in teaching astronomy by:
    1. Sponsoring hands-on workshops that introduce the latest in computer software and observational techniques taught in labs.
    2. Holding sessions that provide information on resources for teaching materials; on successful and unsuccessful curricula developments; on research in teaching; and on the interrelationships between astronomy and other disciplines.
    3. Working with sister committees to promote areas of joint interest.