AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Homepage

https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/spacesci-astro/

Donald Andrew Smith, Committee Chair (2016)
Guilford College
5800 W Friendly Ave
Greensboro, NC United States 27410
Phone: (336) 316-2162
dsmith4@guilford.edu

Kristi D. Concannon, Vice Chair (2016)
King's College
Dept of Chemistry and Physics
133 N River St
Wilkes Barre, PA United States 18711
Phone: (570) 208-5900 ext. 5390
kristiconcannon@kings.edu

Kathryn E. Devine (2017)
The College of Idaho
2112 Cleveland Blvd
Caldwell, ID United States 83605-9990
Phone: (208) 459-5064
kdevine@collegeofidaho.edu

Heather P. Jones (2016)
Mt. San Antonio College
1100 North Grand Avenue
Walnut, CA 91789
Phone: (909) 274-5794
hjones3@mtsac.edu

Ramon E. Lopez (2017)
Univ of Texas - Arlington
Dept of Physics
Arlington, TX United States 76019
Phone: (321) 750-8688
relopez@uta.edu

Pamela A. Maher (2016)
University of Nevada - Las Vegas
4505 S Maryland Pkwy
Las Vegas, NV United States 89154-9901
Phone: (702) 651-4505; Fax: (702) 651-4908
maherp@unlv.nevada.edu

Matthew P. Perkins (2018)
Towson University
8000 York Rd
Dept of Physics,Astronomy,Geosciences
Towson, MD United States 21252-0001
matthewperkins@hotmail.com

Stephanie J. Slater (2018)
Center for Physics & Astronomy Educ/Res
604 South 26th Street
Laramie, WY United States 82070
Phone: (520) 975-3826
stephanie@caperteam.com

Amber L. Stuver (2018)
Caltech/LIGO Livingston
19100 LIGO Ln
PO Box 940
Livingston, LA United States 70754
Phone: (225) 686-3190; Fax: (225) 686-7189
stuver@ligo-la.caltech.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Space Science and Astronomy

Thomas Foster, PhD (2013)

Paul J. Heafner (2014)

Julia K. Olsen, PhD (2015)

 

Mission

  1. To strengthen and maintain contacts with national organizations concerned with space science and astronomy and the teaching thereof.
  2. To provide AAPT members with a perspective on current space science and astronomy research through "Frontiers in Space Science and Astronomy" sessions.
  3. To promote excellence in teaching astronomy by:
    1. Sponsoring hands-on workshops that introduce the latest in computer software and observational techniques taught in labs.
    2. Holding sessions that provide information on resources for teaching materials; on successful and unsuccessful curricula developments; on research in teaching; and on the interrelationships between astronomy and other disciplines.
    3. Working with sister committees to promote areas of joint interest.