AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Hunter G. Close, Chair (2015)
Texas State University - San Marcos
601 University Dr
San Marcos, TX United States 78666-4615
Phone: (512) 245-8103; Fax: (512) 245-8233
hgclose@txstate.edu

Mila Kryjevskaia, Vice Chair (2015)
North Dakota State University
PO Box 6050
Department of Physics #2755
Fargo, ND United States 58108-6050
Phone: (701) 231-9756
mila.kryjevskaia@ndsu.edu

Nancy Beverly (2017)
School of Health and Natural Sciences
555 Broadway
Dobbs Ferry, NY United States 10522
Phone: (914) 674-7275
nbeverly@mercy.edu

Andrew Boudreaux (2017)
Western Washington Univ
CF 385, MS 9164
516 High St
Bellingham, WA United States 98225-9164
andrew.boudreaux@wwu.edu

David T. Brookes (2015)
Florida International University - Modesto A. Maidique Campus
11200 SW 8 St
Miami, FL United States 33199
Phone: (305) 348-0070
dtbrookes@gmail.com

Gerald Feldman (2016)
The George Washington University
Dept of Physics
725 21st St NW
Washington, DC United States 20052
Phone: (202) 994-6489; Fax: (202) 994-3001
feldman@gwu.edu

Beth A. Lindsey (2017)
Pennsylvania State University - Greater Allegheny
4000 Univ Dr
Mc Keesport, PA United States 15131-7644
Phone: (412) 675-9148
bal23@psu.edu

Lillian C. McDermott (2016)
University of Washington - Seattle
Dept of Physics 351560
Seattle, WA United States 98195-1560
Phone: (206) 543-8692; Fax: (206) 685-0635
lcmcd@phys.washington.edu

Eleanor C. Sayre (2015)
Kansas State University
Physics Dept
116 Cardwell Hall
Manhattan, KS United States 66506
esayre@gmail.com

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

  1. Encourage and follow research on the teaching and learning of physics and related topics.
  2. Help keep the AAPT membership and the broader science teaching community aware of new and current understanding of how and why students learn, and ways of improving instruction, including the appropriate use of new tools and technologies.
  3. Encourage both the use of the outcomes of research and the doing of formal and informal research in the physics classroom and laboratory.
  4. Encourage recognition of research in physics education as a valid area of inquiry within physics departments.