AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Vashti A. Sawtelle, Chair (2017)
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road
1312 BPS Building Physics Dept
East Lansing, MI United States 48824-2320
Phone: (305) 968-9311
davisvas@gmail.com

Cassandra Paul, Vice Chair (2017)
San Jose State Univ
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA United States 95192-0001
Phone: (408) 924-5228
cassandra.paul@sjsu.edu

Nancy Beverly (2017)
School of Health and Natural Sciences
555 Broadway
Dobbs Ferry, NY United States 10522
Phone: (914) 674-7275
nbeverly@mercy.edu

Andrew Boudreaux (2017)
Western Washington Univ
CF 385, MS 9164
516 High St
Bellingham, WA United States 98225-9164
andrew.boudreaux@wwu.edu

Marcos D. Caballero (2018)
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road
1310 BPS Building Physics Dept
East Lansing, MI United States 48824-2320
Phone: (517) 884-5657
caballero@pa.msu.edu

James T. Laverty (2019)
Michigan State University
CREATE for STEM Institute
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI United States 48824-1046
laverty1@msu.edu

Beth A. Lindsey (2017)
Pennsylvania State University - Greater Allegheny
4000 Univ Dr
Mc Keesport, PA United States 15131-7644
Phone: (412) 675-9148
bal23@psu.edu

Craig C. Wiegert (2019)
University of Georgia
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Athens, GA United States 30602-2451
Phone: (706) 542-4023; Fax: (706) 542-2492
wiegert@physast.uga.edu

Genaro Zavala (2018)
Tecnologico De Monterrey
Departamento De Fisica Campus Monterrey
Garza Sada 2501 Sur
Monterrey NL, NLE Mexico 64849
Phone: 81-8358-2000
genaro.zavala@itesm.mx

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Research in Physics Education

MacKenzie Stetzer (2014)

Hunter G. Close (2015)

Mila Kryjevskaia (2016)

 

Mission

  1. Encourage and follow research on the teaching and learning of physics and related topics.
  2. Help keep the AAPT membership and the broader science teaching community aware of new and current understanding of how and why students learn, and ways of improving instruction, including the appropriate use of new tools and technologies.
  3. Encourage both the use of the outcomes of research and the doing of formal and informal research in the physics classroom and laboratory.
  4. Encourage recognition of research in physics education as a valid area of inquiry within physics departments.