AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Committee Members

James T. Laverty, Chair (2019)
Kansas State University
213 Cardwell
1228 N 17th St
Manhattan, KS United States 66506
Phone: (785) 532-1526
laverty@ksu.edu

Gina Passante, Vice Chair (2019)
California State University - Fullerton
PO Box 34080
800 N State Col Blvd
Fullerton, CA United States 92831-3547
Phone: (657) 278-7403
gpassante@fullerton.edu

Elise Agra (2020)
University of Chicago
5848 S University Ave
Chicago, IL United States 60637-1496
esgagra@gmail.com

John B. Buncher (2021)
North Dakota State University
Department of Physics - PO BOX 6050
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND United States 58102
john.buncher@ndsu.edu

Cassandra Paul (2021)
San Jose State Univ
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA United States 95192-0001
Phone: (408) 924-5228
cassandra.paul@sjsu.edu

Jeff Saul (2021)
12200 Academy Road NE, Apt. 312
Albuquerque, NM United States 87111
Phone: (954) 665-5373
scaleup13@gmail.com

Trevor I. Smith (2021)
Rowan University
Department of Physics & Astronomy
201 Mullica Hill Rd
Glassboro, NJ United States 08028-1701
Phone: (856) 256-4848
smithtr@rowan.edu

Craig C. Wiegert (2019)
University of Georgia
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Athens, GA United States 30602-2451
Phone: (706) 542-4023; Fax: (706) 542-2492
wiegert@physast.uga.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Research in Physics Education

Mila Kryjevskaia (2016)

Vashti A. Sawtelle (2017)

Cassandra Paul, PhD (2018)

 

Mission

  1. Encourage and follow research on the teaching and learning of physics and related topics.
  2. Help keep the AAPT membership and the broader science teaching community aware of new and current understanding of how and why students learn, and ways of improving instruction, including the appropriate use of new tools and technologies.
  3. Encourage both the use of the outcomes of research and the doing of formal and informal research in the physics classroom and laboratory.
  4. Encourage recognition of research in physics education as a valid area of inquiry within physics departments.