AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Larry Engelhardt, Chair (2018)
Francis Marion University
PO Box 100547
Florence, SC United States 29501-0547
Phone: (843) 661-1452
lengelhardt@fmarion.edu

Shahida Dar, Vice Chair (2018)
Mohawk Valley Community College
1101 Sherman Dr
Utica, NY United States 13501
Phone: (315) 792-5633
sdar@mvcc.edu

Katherine Ansell (2019)
University Of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
1110 W Green St
Urbana, IL United States 61801
crimmin1@illinois.edu

Eric Ayars (2018)
California State University - Chico
Dept of Physics
Campus Box 202
Chico, CA United States 95929-0202
Phone: (530) 898-6967
ayars@mailaps.org

Andrew D. Gavrin (2020)
Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
Dept of Physics, LD154
402 N Blackford St
Indianapolis, IN United States 46202
Phone: (317) 274-6909; Fax: (317) 274-2393
agavrin@iupui.edu

Nina M. Morley Daye (2018)
Orange High School
500 Orange High School Road
Hillsborough, NC United States 27278
Phone: (919) 923-1803; Fax: (919) 644-7699
ninadaye@gmail.com

Christopher M. Nakamura (2020)
Saginaw Valley State Univ
7400 Bay Rd
255 Science West - Physics Dept
University Center, MI United States 48710-0001
cnakamur@svsu.edu

Julia K. Olsen (2020)
University of Arizona
Teachers in Industry
P.O. 210069
Tucson, AZ United States 85721
Phone: (520) 621-5682
jkolsen@email.arizona.edu

William Sams (2019)
Mercer University
1501 Mercer University Drive
Macon, GA United States 31207-0003
Phone: (478) 301-2700; Fax: (478) 301-2108
wrsams@ncsu.edu

Rebecca Vieyra, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740
Phone: (301) 209-3309
rvieyra@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Andrew G. Duffy (2015)

Anne J. Cox (2016)

Jeffrey R. Groff, PhD (2017)

 

Mission

  1. Identify new developments in educational technology and new applications of educational technology to physics teaching and learning;
  2. Communicate these new developments and applications to the AAPT membership through a variety of means, including print and electronic publications, workshops, and sessions at national and regional meetings;
  3. Conduct competitions, as appropriate, to recognize, promote, and reward worthwhile contributions to the uses of educational technologies for physics education; and
  4. Coordinate with other area committees, organizations, and institutions in the development and dissemination of new ideas for the use of various educational technologies in physics education.