AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Homepage

https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/comm/

Paul J. Heafner, Chair (2017)
Catawba Valley Community College
2550 Hwy 70 SE
Hickory, NC United States 28602
heafnerj@gmail.com

Thomas Carter, Vice Chair (2017)
College of DuPage
Natural Science
425 Fawell Blvd
Glen Ellyn, IL United States 60137-6599
Phone: (630) 942-3346
carter@fnal.gov

Glenda Denicolo (2018)
Suffolk County Community College - Ammerman Campus
533 College Road
Dept. Physical Sciences
Selden, NY United States 11784-2899
Phone: (631) 451-4535
glenda.denicolo@gmail.com

Dennis Gilbert (2017)
Lane Community College
4000 E. 30th Ave.
Eugene, OR United States 97405
Phone: (541) 463-5049
gilbertd@lanecc.edu

Thomas Herring (2017)
2201 West College Parkway
CED 310
Carson City, NV United States 89703
Phone: (775) 445-4277
thomas.herring@wnc.edu

Nathan Quarderer (2018)
Northeast Iowa Community Colege
PO Box 400
Calmar, IA United States 52132
Phone: (563) 562-3263; Fax: (563) 562-4357
quarderern@nicc.edu

Arlisa L. Richardson (2019)
Chandler-Gilbert Community College
7360 East Tahoe Ave
Mesa, AZ United States 85212
Phone: (480) 560-2376
arlisa.richardson@cgc.edu

Negussie Tirfessa (2019)
Manchester Comm Coll
Jamie Ln
Unit 2D
Manchester, CT United States 06042-8266
Phone: (860) 512-2731
ntirfessa@mcc.commnet.edu

Christopher J. Ubing (2018)
2539 San Ysidro
Sierra Vista, AZ United States 85635
chris.ubing@gmail.com

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Sherry L. Savrda, Ex Officio
Seminole State College of Florida
100 Weldon Blvd
Physical Science Dept
Sanford, FL United States 32773-6199
savrdas@seminolestate.edu

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Physics in Two-Year Colleges

Renee Lathrop (2014)

Kendra J. Sibbernsen (2015)

C. Dianne Phillips (2016)

 

Mission

1. Provide a common meeting ground and opportunities for communication for two-year college teachers of physics and astronomy.

2. Explore topics of professional concern to two-year college teachers, including the framework of conditions and extra-classroom activities that affect the teacher and educational process.

3. Cooperate with the High School and Professional Concerns

4. Committees on professional topics of mutual concern.

5. Cooperate with the Undergraduate Education Committee on courses and curricula and on matters related to articulation for students transferring between institutions.

6. Make recommendations, through the Review Board and Executive Board, to the AAPT Council and membership, for activities that would be helpful to physics education and physics teachers.