Physics Department Chairs Conference logo

2016 Physics Department Chairs Conference

June 2 - 4, 2016
The American Center for Physics
College Park, Maryland

The American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers are pleased to jointly organize the 2016 Physics Department Chairs Conference. This conference is part of a series of conferences that are now organized annually.

This conference is held in conjunction with a Congressional Visit Day (CVD). The APS Office of Public Affairs (OPA) facilitates communication between physicists and Congress through CVDs. The APS OPA will assist CVD participants with setting up a meeting with their representative or senator and will provide supporting material on scientific issues of concern.

The chairs conference is designed by chairs for chairs. The program will address topics of significant concern to chairs, including strategies for increasing physics majors, managing faculty effectively, tying the curriculum to physics careers, and promoting diversity and inclusion, among others. In addition there will be a number of opportunities for networking and discussion, including receptions and breakout sessions by type of institution.

Schedule of Conference

Physics Department Chairs Conference Agenda


The AIP Career Pathways Project

Managing Up: Dealing Effectively with Deans, Provosts, and Presidents

Joint Task Force on Undergraduate Physics Programs

Assessment Tools &the PhysPort Data Explorer

Toward Progress for All: Statistics on the Physics Community


Please click here to register. Participants must register online and pay the $350 registration fee. This fee includes all meals, events, and transportation during the conference.

Steering Committee

Paul Beale, University of Colorado-Boulder
Nancy Donaldson, Rockhurst University
Phillip Duxbury, Michigan State University
Sumit Mazumdar, University of Arizona
Mary Hall Reno, University of Iowa
Willie Rockward, Morehouse College

Staff Liaisons

Bob Hilborn, AAPT
Monica Plisch, APS