2015 PAEMST Awards

For immediate release. 

July 2, 2015, College Park, MD—Seven AAPT members will be honored later this summer as the 2015 recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Winners will receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and are invited to Washington, DC for an awards ceremony, as well as educational and celebratory events, and visits with members of the Administration.

The AAPT award winners are:

Scott Holloway, Westlake High School, California
Rebecca Vieyra, Cary-Grove High School, Illinois
Liviu Haiducu, Avon Advanced Learning Center, Indiana
James Schafer, Montgomery Blair High School, Maryland
David McDonald, Sidney High School, Montana
Bradford Hill, Southridge High School, Oregon
Scott Hertting, Neenah High School, Wisconsin

"These teachers are shaping America's success through their passion for math and science," President Obama said. "Their leadership and Commitment empower our children to think critically and creatively about science, technology, engineering, and math. The work these teachers are doing in our classrooms today will help ensure that America stays on the cutting edge."

Executive Officer, Beth A. Cunningham remarked, "AAPT recognizes the excellent performance of all of the PAEMST awardees and supports their work in classrooms across the United States. We also recognize the outstanding efforts of the awardees who are also our members. These teachers give their best each day to their students and help advance the greater good through excellence in physics education."

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, It provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.