2017 AAPT Fellows Awards Announced

Contact: David Wolfe
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301)209-3327


College Park, Maryland, United States, April 3, 2017—The 2017 AAPT Fellows Awardees have been announced. The criterion for selection of Fellows is exceptional contribution to AAPT's mission, to enhance the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. Any AAPT member who has maintained an active membership for at least 7 years is eligible for nomination for Fellowship. Nominations are evaluated by the AAPT Awards committee and approved by the AAPT Board of Directors. 

The 2017 Fellows are:

Jon Anderson, Centennial High School, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Dolores Gende, North Broward Preparatory School, Coconut Creek, Florida

Kenneth Heller, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Ramon E. Lopez, University of Texas, Arlington, Texas

Frank P. Noschese, John Jay High School, Cross River, New York

Bob Powell, University of West Georgia, Carrollton, Georgia

J. Mark Schober, Trinity School, New York City, New York

Cindy Schwarz, Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, New York

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.