2024 U.S. Physics Team Announced

U.S. Physics Team identified for Physics Boot Camp

After a rigorous search involving two exams, the American Association of Physics Teachers has identified the top contenders as members of the United States Physics Team. They come from California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, and Wisconsin. There are high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors.

These bright emerging physicists will participate in Physics Boot Camp at the University of Maryland in College Park, May 31-June 10. Most of the students invited to the camp are the top science student in their high school. For many, it is their first chance to meet other students who are truly their peers. The training camp is a crash course in the first two years of university physics. Students learn at a very fast pace. They have an opportunity to hear about cutting edge research from some of the community's leading physicists.

The twenty members of the 2024 U.S. Physics Team will prepare for the mentally grueling exams and lab tests they'll face at the European Physics Olympiad (EuPhO) to be held July 15–19 at Kutaisi International University, Kutaisi, Georgia, where student scholars from many nations will test their knowledge in physics, competing with the world's best. At the end of Camp, the coaches will identify the five students who will represent the United States in the EuPhO.

The members of the 2024 U.S. Physics Team are:
Rohan Bodke, Homestead High School, Cupertino, CA
Isaac Chang, Neuqua Valley High School, Naperville, IL 
Shuoyan Chen, Troy High School, Fullerton, CA  
Yuanyuan Ding, Sage Hill School, Newport Beach, CA 
Agastya Goel, Henry M. Gunn High School, Palo Alto, CA 
Luke Huang, New Canaan High School, New Canaan, CT 
Yehong, Jiang, The Nueva School, San Mateo, CA 
Shihan Kanungo, Henry M. Gunn High School, Palo Alto, CA 
Alexander Li, C. Leon King High School, Tampa, FL 
Allen Li, Monta Vista High School, Cupertino, CA 
Zhiyuan Liu, George Walton Comprehensive High School, Marietta, GA 
Thanush Patlolla, William G. Enloe High School, Raleigh, NC 
Sourish Pramanik, Montgomery High School, Skillman, NJ 
Zian Shi, Clovis North High School, Fresno, CA 
Madison Tian, American High School, Fremont, CA 
Joshua Wang, Brookfield Central High School, Brookfield, WI 
Langming Xing, Princeton International School of Math and Science, Princeton, NJ 
Richard Yang, Iowa City West High School, Iowa City, IA 
Brian Zhang, Northville High School, Northville, MI 
William Zhao, Dougherty Valley High School, San Ramon, CA 

The coaches for the 2024 U.S. Physics Team are Tengiz Bibilashvili, Academic Director; Kellan Colburn, Natalie LeBaron, Elena Yudovina, and Kevin Zhou, Coaches; Rishab Parthasarathy, Junior Coach.

The U.S. Physics Team is sponsored by the generous support of private donors, the American Institute for Physics and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics:
Acoustical Society of America
American Association of Physicists in Medicine
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Astronomical Society
ACA: The Structural Science Society
American Meteorological Society
American Physical Society
AVS: Science &Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing
The Society of Rheology

Hosting University:
University of Maryland

Corporate Sponsors:
Cambridge University Press
Citidel Securities
D.E.Shaw Group & Company

List of Events
May 31 — Physics Team members arrive at the University of Maryland for training camp
June 10 — Camp Closing Ceremony: Five students will be chosen to represent the U.S. Physics Team at the European Physics Olympiad (EuPhO)
July 15-19 — European Physics Olympiad (EuPhO), Kutaisi, Georgia

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics at College Park, Maryland.


David Wolfe

Director of Communications