Committee Members

David M. Cook, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Lawrence University
Dept of Physics
711 E Boldt Way SPC 24
Appleton, WI United States 54911-5699
Phone: (920) 832-6721; Fax: (920) 832-6962
david.m.cook@lawrence.edu

David Donnelly, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Texas State University-San Marcos
Dept of Physics
601 University Dr
San Marcos, TX United States 78666
Phone: (512) 245-2131; Fax: (512) 245-8233
donnelly@txstate.edu

James M. Borgwald (Term ending after WM2022)
Lincoln University
820 Chestnut St
Jefferson City, MO United States 65101-3537
jimborgwald@yahoo.com

Alexander F. Burr (Term ending after WM2022)
New Mexico State University
Main Campus
PO Box 30001
Las Cruces, NM United States 88003-8001
aburr@aol.com

Ronald H. Freeman (Term ending after WM2022)
Northcentral Univ
505 W Whipple St
Prescott, AZ United States 86301-1747
ronhfreeman@yahoo.com

Jill A. Marshall (Term ending after WM2020)
University of Texas - Austin
Dept of Physics
1 University Station D5705
Austin, TX United States 78712-1026
Phone: (512) 232-9685
marshall@austin.utexas.edu

Mary Elizabeth Mogge (Term ending after WM2021)
California State Polytechnic Univ - Pomona
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
3801 W Temple Ave
Pomona, CA United States 91768-4031
memogge@cpp.edu

Bob Powell (Term ending after WM2020)
University of West Georgia
Dept of Physics
1601 Maple St
Carrollton, GA United States 30118
Phone: (678) 839-4087; Fax: (678) 639-4088
bpowell@westga.edu

Myra R. West (Term ending after WM2022)
Kent State University
Kent State University
Physics Department
Kent, OH United States 44240
mwest1@kent.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
Executive Officer
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Thomas L. O'Kuma (2017)

Charles H. Holbrow, PhD (2018)

Charles H. Holbrow, PhD (2019)

 

Mission Statement
The role of the AAPT Committee on the Interests of Senior Physicists is to make the talents and experience of senior AAPT members available to AAPT and to provide a forum in which those members can explore interests and concerns unique to that segment of the AAPT membership. To those ends, the Committee will:

  1. Promote and foster the continued engagement of senior physicists with the AAPT in particular and with the physics community in general.
  2. Provide the AAPT with the expertise and experience of its members.
  3. Sponsor sessions and activities at national AAPT meetings that reflect the interests and expertise of its members and that serve the interests of the general AAPT membership.
  4. Organize or promote programs, opportunities, and activities of particular interest to senior physicists and to those who are looking to undergo age-determined changes in career emphases in the near future.
  5. Work with the AAPT to improve physics education and science literacy within schools at all levels and among the general public.
  6. Provide opportunities for senior physicists to meet regularly to renew collegial relationships.