Committee Members

David Donnelly, Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Myra R. West, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

James M. Borgwald (Term ending after WM2022)

Alexander F. Burr (Term ending after WM2022)

Mary Elizabeth Mogge (Term ending after WM2021)

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio

Past Chairs

Charles H. Holbrow, PhD (2018)

Charles H. Holbrow, PhD (2019)

David M. Cook (2020)


Mission Statement
The role of the AAPT Committee on the Interests of Senior Physicists is to make the talents and experience of senior AAPT members available to AAPT and to provide a forum in which those members can explore interests and concerns unique to that segment of the AAPT membership. To those ends, the Committee will:

  1. Promote and foster the continued engagement of senior physicists with the AAPT in particular and with the physics community in general.
  2. Provide the AAPT with the expertise and experience of its members.
  3. Sponsor sessions and activities at national AAPT meetings that reflect the interests and expertise of its members and that serve the interests of the general AAPT membership.
  4. Organize or promote programs, opportunities, and activities of particular interest to senior physicists and to those who are looking to undergo age-determined changes in career emphases in the near future.
  5. Work with the AAPT to improve physics education and science literacy within schools at all levels and among the general public.
  6. Provide opportunities for senior physicists to meet regularly to renew collegial relationships.