Ken Krane - Homer Dodge Citation Winter 2017Kenneth S. Krane to be Recognized as a 2017 Recipient of the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT


College Park, MD, September 7, 2016—AAPT has announced that Kenneth S. Krane will receive the association's Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT, during the 2017 Winter Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.

Krane earned his B.S. in Physics at the University of Arizona, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Physics at Purdue University. Krane is currently Emeritus Professor of Physics at Oregon State University.

Krane has served AAPT for many years and in many ways. He has been a member of the American Journal of Physics (AJP) Editorial Board as well as an AJP Associate Editor, a member of the Committee on Physics in Graduate Education (1994-1997), a member of the Nominating Committee (2006), and a Principal Investigator, Director, and founder of the AAPT New Faculty Workshop from 1995-2006. He is also the 2004 recipient of the Robert A. Millikan Medal, a 2014 AAPT Fellow, and a co-leader of the Strategic Programs for Innovations in Undergraduate Physics (SPIN-UP) project, providing guidelines and recommendations to physics departments that led to more than doubling of the number of bachelor’s degrees awarded in physics over the past 15 years.

The list of Krane's professional activities in support of physics education is long and distinquished. To highlight a few outside of AAPT, at the American Institute of Physics (AIP) he was a member of the Advisory Committee on Physics Education and an Ex Officio member of the Physics Resources Policy Committee. At the American Physicial Society (APS) he was a member of the Committee on Education. Additionally, he was a member of the National Task Force on Undergraduate Physics from (2003-2006).

Krane has been awarded numerous research grants and contacts from sources that include, the Cottrell Research Grant, the U.K. Science Research Council, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, the Department of Energy, the M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust, and the National Science Foundation.

As one of Krane's colleague remarked in testament to his work, "Ken Krane is the epitome of a dedicated AAPT member: a highly regarded physics text book author, and an outstanding nuclear physics experimentalist."

About the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT
Established in 1953 and renamed in recognition of AAPT founder Homer L. Dodge in 2012, the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT is presented to members in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the association at the national, sectional, or local level.

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

For more information: Contact David Wolfe, Director of Communications,, (301) 209-3322, (301) 209-0845 (Fax),