AAPT 2017-2018 PAEMST Awardees

Contact: David Wolfe
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301)209-3327


October 21, 2019, College Park, MD—Eight AAPT members have been honored as the 2017 and 2018 recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Awardees come from schools in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDES) schools, and schools in the United States territories of Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and thee United State Virgin Islands.  Nominations and awards are facilitated by the White House office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and the National Science Foundation.

The AAPT award winners are:

  • Jennifer Childress, Dimond High School, Anchorage, AK
  • Tiffany Taylor, Rogers Heritage High School, Fayetteville, AR
  • Joshua Gates, The Tatnall School, Wilmington, DE
  • Lorraine Plageman, Jupiter Community High School, Jupiter, FL
  • Aaron Osowiecki, Boston Latin School, Boston, MA
  • Janet Waldeck, Pittsburgh Allderdice High School, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Robert Spencer, T. L. Hanna High School, Anderson , SC
  • Sharron Prairie, Williamstown Middle High School, Williamstown, VT

Executive Officer, Beth A. Cunningham remarked, "AAPT recognizes the excellent performance of all of the PAEMST awardees and supports their work in classrooms across the United States. We also recognize the outstanding efforts of the awardees who are our members. These teachers give their best each day to their students and help advance the greater good through excellence in physics education."

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.