• About AAPT
  • 2017 US Physics Team Shines Brightly at IPHO 2017

2017 US Physics Team Shines Brightly at IPHO 2017

US Physics Team at 2017 IPHO

L-R: Jimmy Qin, Sanjay Raman, Michele Song, Shreyas Balaji, Kye Shi


Contact: David Wolfe
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301) 209-3327


College Park, MD, July 24, 2017—The United States Physics Team ranked eighth place out of 88 countries at the 48th International Physics Olympiad that was held in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, July 16-24, 2017. Themed, "Joyful Camaraderie Beyond the Speed of Light!," the nine day competition among the world's top high school physics students consisted of an Experimental Exam and a Theoretical Exam. The team also experienced several cultural outgoings and visits that included tours of the Indonesian Air Force Museum, Borobudur Temple and Malioboro Street, Tembi Village and Kotagede Silver Craft, and Monumen Uogya Kembali and Merapi Museum.

Several counties won five gold in this difficult exam contest: China, Korea, Russia, and Singapore. Countries winning four gold and one silver medal were Vietnam, Romania, and India. The participants representing the 2017 U.S. Physics Team were:

Shreyas Balaji, John Foster Dulles High School Sugar Land, TX, Gold
Jimmy Qin, Seminole High School, Sanford, FL, Gold
Sanjay Raman, Lakeside School, Seattle, WA, Silver
Kye Shi, Monte Vista Christian School, Watsonville, CA, Gold
Michelle Song, Mission San Jose High School, Fremont, CA, Silver

The U.S. Team was led by Paul Stanley of Beloit College, JiaJia Dong of Bucknell University, and David Fallest of Mary Washington University.

"AAPT congratulates these exceptional student scholars. Their exceptional achievements in this international competition are a reflection of the work of their coaches, the entire 2017 Physics Team, the support of their families, and the best of physics education," said Dr. Beth A. Cunningham, Executive Officer of the American Association of Physics Teachers.

Funding and Sponsorship
The U.S. Physics Olympiad Program was started in 1986 by AAPT to promote and demonstrate academic excellence. It continues to be supported as a joint initiative between AAPT, AIP, and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics:

American Association of Physicists in Medicine
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Astronomical Society
American Crystallographic Association
American Meteorological Society
American Institute for Physics
American Physical Society
AVS: Science &Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing
Optical Society of America
The Society of Rheology

Hosting Universities
University of Maryland

Corporate Sponsors:
Beloit College
Cambridge University Press
Ellington Management Group
Princeton University Press
Texas Instruments

Funding for the U.S. Physics Team also depends on donations from concerned individuals and organizations. Contributions are entirely used to support the selection, training, and travel of the team. Donations to the U.S. Physics Team are accepted at www.aapt.org/physicsteam/donate.cfm.

Main website of the U.S. Physics Team: http://www.aapt.org/physicsteam/2017/
History of the physics team, including past winners: http://www.aapt.org/physicsteam/2017/program.cfm
47th International Physics Olympiad: http://www.ipho2016.org/

AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.