Committee on Apparatus

Mission Statement

Runs the AAPT Apparatus Competition held in conjunction with the AAPT Summer Meeting each year.



Committee Members

Stephen H. Irons, Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Mark F. Masters, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Ansel J. Foxley (Term ending after WM2021)

Robert Hobbs (Term ending after WM2021)

Derek Leadbetter (Term ending after WM2022)

James J. Lincoln (Term ending after WM2022)

Paul E. Noel (Term ending after WM2022)

Gregory W. Putman (Term ending after WM2022)

Dale Stille (Term ending after WM2022)

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio

Past Chairs

Tara A. Peppard (2019)

Gregory W. Putman (2020)



  1. Inform the AAPT membership about current techniques for the construction, maintenance, and utilization of instructional apparatus.
  2. Seek new and forgotten techniques for presenting ideas in physics through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.
  3. As authorized by the Executive Board, conduct events such as the apparatus competition to recognize, reward, and publicize contributions to physics teaching through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.