Committee Members

Ken Brandt, Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Richard Gelderman, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Spencer L. Buckner (Term ending after WM2021)

David R. Klassen (Term ending after WM2022)

Gregory Mulder (Term ending after WM2022)

Adriana Predoi-Cross (Term ending after WM2022)

Jordan K. Steckloff (Term ending after WM2020)

Kristen Thompson (Term ending after WM2020)

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison

Past Chairs

Kristi D. Concannon (2017)

Amber L. Stuver, PhD (2018)

Benjamin G. Jenkins (2019)



  1. To strengthen and maintain contacts with national organizations concerned with space science and astronomy and the teaching thereof.
  2. To provide AAPT members with a perspective on current space science and astronomy research through "Frontiers in Space Science and Astronomy" sessions.
  3. To promote excellence in teaching astronomy by:
    1. Sponsoring hands-on workshops that introduce the latest in computer software and observational techniques taught in labs.
    2. Holding sessions that provide information on resources for teaching materials; on successful and unsuccessful curricula developments; on research in teaching; and on the interrelationships between astronomy and other disciplines.
    3. Working with sister committees to promote areas of joint interest.