Committee on Diversity in Physics

The AAPT Committee on Diversity in physics stands as the voice for marginalized groups within AAPT and the broader scientific community, hearing and responding to the concerns of those in marginalized groups, and working together to find just and equitable solutions to issues of concern around diversity, equity, and inclusion.

(Prior to October 2013, this was the Committee on Minorities in Physics)

Area Committee of the Year - 2016
Area Committee of the Year - 2020

Session and Workshop Forms

Mission Statement (currently being updated)

CoDP Statement on Violence and Racism Against Black People (PDF) - June 5, 2020
Statement on Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin (HTML / PDF)
Supporting and Enhancing Diversity and Inclusiveness in AAPT (PDF) -- Report accepted by the Board of Directors on February 18, 2017
Statement on the Use of the GRE in Admissions to Graduate Physics Programs (PDF)--Approved by the AAPT Board of Directors on July 21, 2019.



Committee Members

Arlene Modeste Knowles, Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Alexis Knaub, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2021)

Adebanjo Oriade (Term ending after WM2021)

Benjamin Pollard (Term ending after WM2022)

Idaykis Rodriguez (Term ending after WM2022)

Chandra Anne Turpen (Term ending after WM2021)

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio

Julie McIntyre, Staff Liaison

Past Chairs

Carolina Alvarado (2019)



  1. Seek more effective means of recruitment and retention of minority members of society in physics classes and physics related careers.
  2. Seek methods of aiding minority physicists to overcome barriers to career development.
  3. Communicate to the AAPT membership and to the community at large the findings of the committee, through approved AAPT channels.