Committee on Graduate Education in Physics

The Committee on Graduate Education seeks to connect and support research and promotion of topics relevant to graduate education in physics, including effective instruction, graduate school access, diversity and equity in graduate school, and preparation of graduate students for careers post-graduation.

Session and Workshop Forms

Information about Conference on Graduate Education in Physics: Which Way Forward?

Mission Statement



Committee Members

Geoff Potvin, Chair (Term ending after WM2022)

Shannon D. Willoughby, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2023)

Douglas T. Petkie (Term ending after WM2022)

Nicholas T. Young (Term ending after WM2022)

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio

Gabriel C. Spalding, Ex Officio

Julie M. McIntyre, Staff Liaison

Past Chairs

Christopher Porter (2019)

Deepa N. Chari (2019)

Danny Doucette (2021)




  1. Provide a forum for consideration of topics relevant to graduate instruction in physics.
  2. Through communication with the Committee on Physics in Undergraduate Education and with the AAPT membership, seek ways in which students may be better prepared for the transition from undergraduate school to graduate school, and ways in which students may emerge from graduate school better prepared for undergraduate teaching as well as academic and industrial research.
  3. Aid in keeping the AAPT membership and other academic and research physicists aware of effective means of conducting graduate instruction in physics, in classrooms and in research.
  4. Provide effective communication, through accepted channels, between AAPT and research oriented scientific and engineering societies with overlapping interests.