Committee on Educational Technologies

2017 Committee of the Year

They developed and disseminated several online documents for other Committees, including a Google doc for workshop and session sponsorships to be used prior to Programs 2, and materials to assist Area Chairs in their work. These initiatives assist AAPT beyond the work of the Committee, assisting in the planning of meetings. They have also experimented with innovative session formats in an effort to enhance session attendance, and have addressed the timely issue of computational methods. They have also established ongoing, strong collaborations with other committees.

Mission Statement

2018 Annual Committee Report
2017 Annual Committee Report
2016 Annual Committee Report
2015 Annual Committee Report
2014 Annual Committee Report
2013 Annual Committee Report
2012 Annual Committee Report
2011 Annual Committee Report
2010 Annual Committee Report
2009 Annual Committee Report
2008 Annual Committee Report
2007 Annual Committee Report
2006 Annual Committee Report
2005 Annual Committee Report
2004 Annual Committee Report


Committee Members

Andrew D. Gavrin, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)

Brandon R. Lunk, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2020)

Andre Bresges (Term ending after WM2021)

Walter Freeman (Term ending after WM2022)

Christopher M. Nakamura (Term ending after WM2020)

Kelly Roos (Term ending after WM2022)

Jay J. Wang (Term ending after WM2022)

Mark S. Hannum, Ex Officio

Past Chairs

Jeffrey R. Groff, PhD (2017)

Larry Engelhardt (2018)

Shahida Dar (2019)



  1. Identify new developments in educational technology and new applications of educational technology to physics teaching and learning;
  2. Communicate these new developments and applications to the AAPT membership through a variety of means, including print and electronic publications, workshops, and sessions at national and regional meetings;
  3. Conduct competitions, as appropriate, to recognize, promote, and reward worthwhile contributions to the uses of educational technologies for physics education; and
  4. Coordinate with other area committees, organizations, and institutions in the development and dissemination of new ideas for the use of various educational technologies in physics education.