Homepage
https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/comm/

Committee Members

Glenda Denicolo, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Suffolk County Community College - Ammerman Campus
533 College Road
Dept. Physical Sciences
Selden, NY United States 11784-2899
Phone: (631) 451-4535; Fax: (631) 451-4433
denicog@sunysuffolk.edu

Nathan Quarderer, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Northeast Iowa Community College
1625 Hwy 150 South
Calmar, IA United States 52132
Phone: (563) 562-3263; Fax: (563) 562-4357
quarderern@nicc.edu

Bob Brazzle (Term ending after WM2021)
Jefferson College
2019 Brutus Ct.
Fenton, MO United States 63026
bobbrazzle@yahoo.com

Michael Butros (Term ending after WM2022)
Victor Valley College
18422 Bear Valley Rd
Victorville, CA United States 92395
Phone: (760) 245-4271
Michael.Butros@vvc.edu

Thomas Herring (Term ending after WM2021)
2201 West College Parkway
CED 310
Carson City, NV United States 89703
Phone: (775) 445-4277
thomas.herring@wnc.edu

Kristine Lui (Term ending after WM2021)
Montgomery College
20200 Observation Dr.
Germantown, MD United States 20876
Phone: (240) 567-6007
klui@montgomerycollege.edu

Sherry L. Savrda (Term ending after WM2022)
Seminole State College of Florida
100 Weldon Blvd
Physical Science Dept
Sanford, FL United States 32773-6199
savrdas@seminolestate.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Arlisa L. Richardson, Ex Officio
Chandler-Gilbert Community College
7360 East Tahoe Ave
Mesa, AZ United States 85212
Phone: (480) 560-2376
arlisa.richardson@cgc.edu

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Paul J. Heafner (2017)

Thomas Carter, PhD (2018)

Gregory Mulder (2019)

 

Mission

1. Provide a common meeting ground and opportunities for communication for two-year college teachers of physics and astronomy.

2. Explore topics of professional concern to two-year college teachers, including the framework of conditions and extra-classroom activities that affect the teacher and educational process.

3. Cooperate with the High School and Professional Concerns

4. Committees on professional topics of mutual concern.

5. Cooperate with the Undergraduate Education Committee on courses and curricula and on matters related to articulation for students transferring between institutions.

6. Make recommendations, through the Review Board and Executive Board, to the AAPT Council and membership, for activities that would be helpful to physics education and physics teachers.