AAPT Proactively Moves to Remote Work Due to Coronavirus; Business to Continue as Usual

March 13, 2020

WASHINGTON, March 13, 2020 -- Due to an abundance of caution, American Association of Physics Teachers employees will be working remotely beginning Monday, March 16, 2020 to reduce potential exposure to the coronavirus.

Categories: Press Releases, Announcements

Barbara Lotze Scholarship Winners for 2019

February 26, 2020

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) announced the winners of the 2019 Barbara Lotze Scholarship for Future Teachers.

Categories: Press Releases, Announcements

Chandralekha Singh Becomes President of AAPT

February 24, 2020

During the 2020 Winter Meeting in Orlando, Florida, the presidential gavel was presented to Dr. Chandralekha Singh. She will serve as President of the American Association of Physics Teachers for the coming year.

Categories: Announcements, Press Releases

Robert C. Hilborn Elected 2019 AAAS Fellow

November 26, 2019

Robert C. Hilborn, Associate Executive Officer of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. The citation states: Dr. Robert Hilborn (Education) for distinguished service to the field of physics education, particularly for reforming K-12 and undergraduate physics education.

Categories: Press Releases, Announcements

Richard W. Peterson Recognized with AAPT’s 2020 Melba Newell Phillips Medal

November 6, 2019

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) has announced that the 2020 Melba Newell Phillips Medal will be awarded to Richard Peterson, University Professor of Physics – Emeritus, Bethel University, St. Paul, Minnesota. The Medal will be presented during a Ceremonial Session of the AAPT 2020 Winter Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Categories: Press Releases, Announcements

2020 AAPT Oersted Medal awarded to David Sokoloff

October 30, 2019

David Sokoloff has been named as the 2020 recipient of the prestigious Hans Christian Oersted Medal, presented by the American Association of Physics Teachers ® (AAPT ®).

Categories: Press Releases, Announcements

AAPT PAEMST Awardees 2017-2018

October 22, 2019

Eight AAPT members have been honored as the 2017 and 2018 recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Categories: Announcements, Press Releases

US Physics Team Finishes 5th in 50th IPhO

July 15, 2019

The 50th International Physics Olympiad came to a close on Sunday, July 15, 2019 in a ceremony that included jubilant winners, dance and music performances, and speeches, all reflecting the many cultures represented in the Olympiad. Between examinations the physics scholars toured Israel, from floating in the Dead Sea to hiking in national parks.

Categories: Announcements, Press Releases, News

U.S. Physics Team Travels to Tel Aviv for 2019 International Physics Olympiad

June 7, 2019

Five students have been selected to represent the U.S. Physics Team as the 2019 Traveling Team at the 50th International Physics Olympiad, a competition among high-school physics students, to be held July 7 –15, 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel. They will be accompanied by coaches JiaJia Dong and Mark Eichenlaub.

Categories: Announcements, Press Releases

Physics Team Camp Preps U.S. Students

May 31, 2019

This week twenty of the country’s best and brightest high school physics students will sit in a University of Maryland classroom, learning the theories that might land them the opportunity to travel to the 50th International Physics Olympiad .

Categories: Press Releases, Announcements

Results 1 - 10 of 23    Next >>